UPSC » UPSC – Dogri Syllabus

UPSC – Dogri Syllabus



(Answers must be written in Dogri) 

Section A 

History of Dogri Language 

  1. Dogri language: Origin and development through different stages. 
  2. Linguistic boundaries of Dogri and its dialects. 
  3. Characteristic features of Dogri Language. 
  4. Structure of Dogri Langauge: 

(a) Sound Structure: 

Segmental : Vowels and Consonants 

Non-segmental : Length, Stress, Nasalization, Tone and Junture. 

(b) Morphology of Dogri: 

(i) Inflection Categories: Gender, Number, Case, Person, Tense and Voice. 

(ii) Word Formation; use of prefixes, infixes and suffixes. 

(iii) Vocabulary: tatsam, tadbhav, foreign and regional. 

(c) Sentence Structure; Major Sentence-types and their constituents, agreement and concord in Dogri  syntax. 

  1. Dogri Language and Scripts: Dogre/Dogra Akkhar, Devanagari and Persia. 

Section B 

History of Dogri Language 

  1. A brief account of Pre-independence Dogri Literature: Poetry & Prose.

Government strives to have a workforce which reflects gender balance and women candidates are encouraged to apply

  1. Development of modern Dogri Poetry and main trends in Dogri Poetry. 
  2. Development of Dogri short-story, main trends and prominent short-story writers. 4. Development of Dogri Novel, main trends and contribution of Dogri Novelists. 5. Development of Dogri Drama and contribution of prominent playwrights. 
  3. Development of Dogri Prose; Essays, Memoirs and travelogues. 
  4. An introduction to Dogri Folk Literature—Folk songs, Folk tales 7 Ballads. 



(Answers must be written in Dogri) 

Section A 


  1. Azadi Paihle Di Dogri Kavita 

The following poets: 

Devi Ditta, Lakkhu, Ganga Ram, Ramdhan, Hardutt, Pahari Gandhi Baba Kanshi Ram & Permanand  Almast 

  1. Modern Dogri Poetry 

Azadi Bad Di Dogri Kavita 

The following poets : 

Kishan Smailpuri, Tara Smailpuri, Mohan Lal Sapolia, Yash Sharma, K.S. Madhukar, Padma  Sachdev, Jitendra Udhampuri, Charan Singh and Prakash Premi 

  1. Sheeraza Dogri Number 102, Ghazal Ank 

The following poets : 

Ram Lal Sharma, Ved Pal Deep, N.D. Jamwal, Shiv Ram Deep, Ashwini Magotra and Virendra Kesar 4. Sheeraza Dogri Number 147, Ghazal Ank 

The following poets: 

R.N. Shastri, Jitendra Udhampuri, Champa Sharma and Darshan Darshi. 

  1. Ramayan (Epic) by Shambhu Nath Sharma (up to Ayodhya Kand) 
  2. Veer Gulab (Khand Kavya) by Dinoo Bhai Pant. 

Section B 


  1. Ajakani Dogri Kahani 

The following Short Story Writers : 

Madan Mohan Sharma, Narendra Khajuri and B.P. Sathe 

  1. Ajakani Dogri Kahani Part-II 

The following Short Story Writers :

Government strives to have a workforce which reflects gender balance and women candidates are encouraged to apply. 

Ved Rahi, Narsingh Dev Jamwal, Om Goswami, Chahttrapal, Lalit Magotra, Chaman Arora and  Ratan Kesar. 

  1. Khatha Kunj Bhag II 

The following Story Writers : 

Om Vidyarthi, Champa Sharma and Krishan Sharma. 

  1. Meel Patthar (collection of short stories) by Bandhu Sharma. 
  2. Kaiddi (Novel) by Desh Bandhu Dogra Nutan. 
  3. Nanga Rukkh (Novel) by O.P. Sharma Sarathi. 
  4. Nayaan (Drama) by Mohan Singh. 
  5. Satrang (A collection of one act plays). 

The following play wrights : 

Vishwa Nath Khajuria, Ram Nath Shastri, Jitendra Sharma, Lalit Magotra and Madan Mohan  Sharma. 

  1. Dogri Lalit Nibandh 

The following authors: 

Vishwa Nath Khajuria, Narayan Mishra, Balkrishan Shastri, Shiv Nath, Shyam Lal Sharma, Lakshmi  Narayan, D.C. Prashant, Ved Ghai, Kunwar Viyogi.