Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
Wellesley - British Rule (in Tamil)
53 plays

The Province of India earlier Presidencies of British India and still earlier, Presidency towns, were the administrative divisions of British governance in the subcontinent. Collectively, they were called British India In one form or another, they existed between 1612 and 1947, conventionally divided into three historical periods During the period of , 1757–1858, the Company rule in India, gradually acquired sovereignty over large parts of India, now called "Presidencies". Here in this course I am going to explain Lord Wellesley

Karthick Selvaraj
Founder of Karthick Academy (YouTube Channel) Get Our Android App from the Google Play Store.

Unacademy user

  2. Wellesley (1796 -1805AD) After Cornwallis, Sir John Shore became the Governor General of India He also followed the policy of Non - Intervention He was succeeded by Lord Wellesley He followed the policy of expansion & extended the British territories through Subsidiary Alliance

  3. Subsidiary Alliance Subsidiary Alliance means was to bring princely states under the control of British In this system, an Indian ruler had to maintain British troops in his state, either by giving some of his territory or by paying for the maintenance of the troops >The Indian ruler could not fight or sign treaties with any other power

  4. This system allowed the British to maintain a large army at the expense of the local rulers The English became the supreme power in India They began to control foreign policy of native states The French influence was excluded from the Indian States & the extent of British Empire in India increased

  5. The native rulers lost their prestige & dignity Both the British & native rulers neglected the welfare of the people The Nizam of Hydrabad was the first state to enter into the Subsidiary Alliance with the English Nawab of Oudh was forced by Wellesley to enter into the Subsidiary Alliance And later Peswa Baji Rao Il also entered into Subsidiary Alliance with English

  6. The Fourth Anglo-Mysore war (1799) betweern the British & Tipu Sultan Tipu Sultan wanted to recover his territories which he lost in Third Anglo - Mysore war & he did not accept the Subsidiary Alliance Tipu defeated at Malavalli and died on May 4th 1799 while defending his capital sriragapatinam

  7. Peswa Baji rao ll signed the treaty of Bassein irn 1802 The Maratha leaders Scindia & Bhonsle refused to accept the treaty So they joined together & attacked the British in 1803, Authur Wellesley defeated Marathas Lord Wellesley transformed the trading English East India Company into a strong political power in India