Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
Cornwallis - British Rule (in Tamil)
90 plays

The Province of India earlier Presidencies of British India and still earlier, Presidency towns, were the administrative divisions of British governance in the subcontinent. Collectively, they were called British India In one form or another, they existed between 1612 and 1947, conventionally divided into three historical periods During the period of , 1757–1858, the Company rule in India, gradually acquired sovereignty over large parts of India, now called "Presidencies". Here in this course I am going to explain Lord Cornwallis

Karthick Selvaraj
Founder of Karthick Academy (YouTube Channel) Get Our Android App from the Google Play Store.

Unacademy user
Sir plant roots positive pressure lgati h y negative
Sir Cornwallis second tenure governor Generala vandarunu sniga bt Robert Clive second tenure vandurkare sir
ya sorry ma its my mistake both came two tenure as governor general
K tq sir

  2. CORNWALLIS (1786 -1793AD) He became the Governor General of India in 1786 He tried to follow the policy of non - intervention In 1793, He introduced the permanent land revenue settlement of Bengal The Zamindars were required to pay a fixed amount in cash on a fixed date as land revenue to the treasury, irrespective of what they could collect

  3. Slowly the Zamindars brought more areas under cultivation & made more money while they paid the same fixed amount to the company Many Zamindars benefited more than either the company or the peasants The worst affected peoples were the cultivators who were left at the mercy of Zamindars The government had no direct contact with the people

  4. Reforms of Cornwallis Cornwallis introduced a new administrative civil service system He introduced strict regulation raised their salaries & gave promotion on the basis of merits All high post were reserved only for the English Indians could only be selected for sub ordinate posts

  5. The districts were divided into small thanas and an Inspector was appointed in each thana A superior officer with the designation of superintendent of police was appointed in each district to supervise the work of the Inspectors >He raised the salaries of all police officers He separated the judiciary from executive as a result equal justice could be dispensed to all the people

  6. He abolished the court fees A new code of regulations known as Cornwallis Code was compiled in 1793 by George Barlow In 1787 the province of Bengal was divided into many areas & each areas was placed under collector He revived the old practice of making direct contact with the merchants & improved trade & commerce

  7. He established in 1791 a Sanskrit college for Hindus that is now the Government Sanskrit College in Benares He was raised to the title of Marquess Cornwallis in 1792 as recognition for his performance in the Third Anglo-Mysore War(1790- 1792), in which he extracted significant concessions from the Mysorean ruler, Tipu Sultan - Treaty of Srirangpatanam

  8. His second tenure in 1805 came to India, but died before he could do any wonders again