UPSC » UPSC CSE Study Materials » Indian Society » 4th Edition of Women Transforming India Awards

4th Edition of Women Transforming India Awards

The Women Transforming India Awards takes place in honour of exceptional women. Here we’ll learn more about it in detail.

WTI, also known as the Women Transforming India Awards, are award events that are held annually. In addition to it, the Indian government, the National Institute for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog, and the United Nations support this annual contest. The contest takes place to honour some exceptional women who are entrepreneurs and break the country’s stereotypes. The first-ever award of WTI was given in the year 2016. During the award, the nominees are given to the public to vote for out of all the entries. In 2016, there were around 1000 entries, and only 25 names were shortlisted for the nomination. Out of this, 12 winners were produced, of which six were winners, and the rest six were runner-ups. The recent NITI Aayog Awards 2021 was hosted on March 8, 2022.

WTI Award

The annual initiative of NITI Aayog, WTI Awards, highlights the groundbreaking and commendable endeavours of change-makers and women leaders in the country. Since 2018, the WTI award has been hosted under the Women Entrepreneurship Platform (WEP), which is NITI Aayog’s aegis that specially focuses on entrepreneurship. There are different categories of this award, which are as follows:

  • Manufacturing sector
  • Digital innovation
  • Climate action
  • Non-manufacturing sector
  • Community and public service
  • Promote culture, handicrafts, and art
  • Financial products that enable the growth of the economy

The selection of winners is made on the basis of WEP’s nominations and also by shortlisting, which is done by the search and selection committee. 

In 2017, there were around 3,000 entries, from which only 12 winners were chosen. In 2018, there were 2,500 entries and only 15 winners. Following this, in the fourth edition of the Women Transforming India awards in 2019, there were 16 winners. Usually, this award is celebrated on International Women’s Day, which is celebrated on March 8. 

NITI Aayog Awards 2021

The fifth edition of the WTI Awards, which was the NITI Aayog awards 2021, was held on March 21, 2022. This year, in order to commemorate 75 years of independence of the country, there were 75 women achievers who were conferred to celebrate and appreciate the contribution they have made. This ceremony recognised entrepreneurs who have made their mark in different sectors. Based on the nominations, in NITI Aayog Awards 2021, there were 75 winners. Some important people like Amitabh Kant, who is the CEO of NITI Aayog, Anna oy, who is the senior advisor of NITI Aayog, UN Resident Coordinator Shombi Sharp, and Kailash Kher, an acclaimed singer who is also a Padma Shree awardee attended the event. To date, there are above 900 entrepreneurs present in India, and these women have benefited from several events and programs that are hosted. 

NITI Aayog Awards 2020

NITI Aayog organised the Fourth Edition of the Women Transforming India Awards. It was done in the presence of Shri Rajnath Singh, Raksha Mantri. The WEP has indeed become a forum that is dedicated to enabling, empowering, and educating women entrepreneurs of the country. During the event, a recap of WEP was given in the beginning. There were some famous speakers present at the ceremony. Shri Rajnath Singh also gave a speech emphasising the role of women in contributing to the growth of the economy of the country. There were thousands of entries in this year, and at last, there were 16 winners. 


The WTI Awards help encourage and empower women of India who are entrepreneurs or want to become one. Since the year 2016, the event has been celebrated mostly on international women’s day. NITI Aayog organised the Fourth Edition of the Women Transforming India Awards and also the fifth WTI awards on March 8, 2021, and March 8, 2022, respectively. In the NITI Aayog Awards 2021, there were 75 winners to celebrate 75 years of independence of the country.


Frequently asked questions

Get answers to the most common queries related to the UPSC Examination Preparation.

What is WEP?

Ans : WEP stands for Women Entrepreneurship Platform, which is a NITI Aayog in...Read full

What is NITI Ayog?

Ans : NITI Aayog stands for the National Institution for Transforming India. T...Read full

Why is WTI nowadays in the news?

Ans: The fifth edition of the WRI awards was organised by NITI Aayog on 8th March 2022. This year the event conferre...Read full

Explain in short about WTI Awards?

Ans: NITI Aayog initiated Women Transforming India Awards in the year 2016. This was to celebrate and recognise the ...Read full