Home » NEET UG » NEET UG Notifications » NEET UG Eligibility

NEET UG Eligibility

Before applying for the NEET UG Exam, learn about the eligibility criteria. This will help candidates in getting clarity about the eligibility status.

NEET UG Eligibility Criteria

The NTA releases NEET UG eligibility criteria for medical aspirants. The eligibility criteria specifies the nationality, percentile, age limit etc. that candidates have to meet to appear for the exam. Earlier there were a lot of restrictions related to the age limit, subjects and type of school categories in eligibility criteria, which were removed from the new NEET UG guidelines for the year 2022.

Eligibility criteria for NEET UG Exam

Age limit

The following guidelines should be considered by candidates:

  • The minimum age limit of a candidate to apply for the NEET UG is 17 years, i.e they should complete the age on or before 31 December of the year of admission to the Undergraduate program
  • The upper age limit for NEET-UG is 25 years as of the date of examination.there’s a relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST/OBC-NCL and PwBD category candidates

Note – Candidates above 25 years are provisionally permitted to appear in NEET UG. However, their candidature is subjected to the outcome of the pending petitions before the Hon’ble Supreme Court


The following candidates can apply for the NEET UG exam-

  • Indian nationals
  • Overseas citizen of India or OCI
  • Foreign nationals
  • Non-resident Indians or NRIs
  • Persons with Indian origin or PIO

Educational Qualifications

Candidates appearing for the NEET UG must meet the following educational or academic qualifications- 

  • Candidates must have passed Class 12 or any equivalent exam from a recognised board or institution
  • Aspirants who have not completed Class 12 but expecting results soon can also apply for the NEET UG exam
  • Candidates who have cleared Class 12 from any open school or institute can also apply for the exam
  • Candidates must have passed Class 12 with subjects such as Physics, Biology, and Chemistry
  • The qualifying percentage of Class 12 to apply for the NEET UG exam is divided according to the categories of candidates that are mentioned below-
    • General- 50 percent
    • SC/ST/OBC- 40 percent
    • PwD- 45 percent 

Quota seats

For 15 percent quota- 

Candidates who clear the NEET exam can apply for the 15 percent of All India Quota seats or AIQ seats. In this quota, the counselling process is conducted at an all India level by MCI or Medical Council of India. Candidates who belong to Jammu and Kashmir cannot apply for this quota. The only condition under which they can apply is that they have to fill a self-declaration form that needs to be submitted along with the NEET application form. The self-declaration form states that the candidate wants to participate in the 15 percent quota and is ready to forgo the home state counselling. Candidates who apply via the AIQ 15 percent quota are eligible to score their seats at ESIC, AFMC colleges, or deemed universities. 

For 85 percent quota- 

The counselling for this quota is also conducted by state authorities only and candidates must fulfil all the guidelines pertaining to the NEET UG eligibility criteria that are set by the state or UTs authorities. The allotment of seats under this quota are applicable to candidates who have cleared Class 10 and Class 12 from Delhi. On the other hand, the institutional seats of AMU will only be open to AMU students. 


Frequently Asked Questions

Get NEET UG exam preparation tips and study plan to crack NEET UG 2022.

What is the minimum age limit for the NEET exam?

Ans: A candidate should be at least 17 years old to apply for the NEET UG exam. If not they should be 17 years by th...Read full

Can only Indian nationals apply for NEET?

Ans: No, foreign nationals are also eligible to write NEET, given they have taken biology, physics and chemistry sub...Read full

What education qualification is required to attempt the NEET UG exam?

Ans: Any student wishing to appear for the NEET exam should have cleared 10+2 years of education, with Physics, Chem...Read full

What are the qualifying marks for the NEET UG exam?

Ans:  Qualifying marks differ according to the category a student falls in. General category students are required ...Read full

What are the different kinds of quota seats in the NEET exam?

Ans:  The first kind of quota is the AQI seats or All India Quota, wherein 15% of seats are reserved at all India l...Read full