CBSE Class 11 » CBSE Class 11 Notifications » Syllabus » Hindustani Music Melodic

Hindustani Music Melodic

Click here to get access to the Hindustani Music Melodic Syllabus for Standard 11th

The 11th standard students should refer to the Hindustani Music Melodic syllabus to understand the type of questions asked in the examination. The detailed syllabus of the subject is mentioned below. 

Unit 1

  • Brief study of the following
    • Saptak
    • Nada
    • Thaat
    •  Jati
    • Laya
    • Shruti
    •  Tala
    • Swara
  • Brief study of the following
    • Margi-Desi
    • Raga
    • Gat

Unit 2

  • Brief history of the following
    • Dhrupad 
    • Mastikhani
    • Razakhni Gat

Unit 3

  • Brief study of musical elements in Natya Shastra 
  • Life sketch and contribution of Tansen, V.N. Bhatkhande and V.D Paluskar

Unit 4

  • Description of Prescribed Talas along with Tala Notation- in Thah, Dugun and Chaugan prescribed Talas:
    • Teentala
    • Chautala
    • Ektala
  • Knowledge of the Structure of the Instrument opted for

Unit 5 

  • Writing in Notation the Compositions of Prescribed Ragas:
    • Bihag
    • Bhim
    • Palasi
    • Bhairavi
  • Critical study of Prescribed Ragas along with Recognizing Ragas from phrases of Swaras and elaborating them. Excluding Rag Jaunpuri


  1.  One Razakhani Gat with Alap, tala- badha Tana and Jhala in the following ragas
  • Bihag
  •  Bhimpalasi
  • Bhairavi
  1. One Masit khani Gat with tanas in any one of the prescribed ragas
  2. Ability to do Aalap, Jod, Jhala in any one of the prescribed raga
  3. Knowledge of structure of instrument opted for
  4. Ability to recognize prescribed ragas from the passages of swaras sung or played by the examiner
  5. Recitation of Thekas of Teentala, Chautala and Ektala with Dugun and Chaugun keeping tala with and beats