Company Logo

The Imperial Magadh

Lesson 9 of 13 • 9 upvotes • 7:35mins


Abhyudaya Kelkar

Out of the 16 Mahajanapadas discussed in the previous lesson, it was only Magadha which raised banner and arms against its neighbours. This all began with Bimbisara of Haryanka Dynasty. This imperialism can be divided into three phases of individual dynasties : 1. Haryanka Dynasty, the dynasty of Bimbisara and Ajatashatru, both contemporaries of Buddha. 2. Shishunaga Dynasty, the second one 3. Nanda Dynasty, the final pre-Mauryan dynasty These three will wipe out almost all the Mahajanpadas and capture most of the eastern and central India. The capital of Magadh also shifted from Rajagriha to Patliputra.

Continue on app

Crack UPSC CSE - GS with Unacademy

Get subscription and access unlimited live and recorded courses from India's best educators
Structured syllabus
Structured syllabus
Daily live classes
Daily live classes
Ask doubts
Ask doubts
Tests & practice
Tests & practice
  • About us
  • Careers
  • Blogs
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms and Conditions
Play Store
App Store
warningNo internet connection