RRB NTPC Exam Pattern

RRB NTPC Exam Pattern​

There are various stages of exams conducted in the Railway Recruitment Board for Non-Technical Popular Categories. Each stage of the exam has a different exam pattern which must be known to students who wish to appear for the exam. 

RRB NTPC Exam Pattern​

There are various stages of exams conducted in the Railway Recruitment Board for Non-Technical Popular Categories. Each stage of the exam has a different exam pattern which must be known to students who wish to appear for the exam. 

Stage 1 – Computer Based Test

  • Computer Based Test is conducted online
  • The duration for the exam is 90 minutes. The duration for eligible PwBD candidates with scribe is 120 minutes
  • The total marks of the exam is 100
  • There will be Objective type questions with multiple choices
  • There will be questions from three sections-General Awareness, Mathematics, and General Intelligence and Reasoning 
  • A negative marking of 1/3rd mark will be imposed for every incorrect answerHere is the section-wise distribution of marks for the first stage of the exam:
Exam Duration Sections  Total no. of Questions  Marks
90 minutes General Awareness 40 40
Mathematics  30 30
General Intelligence and Reasoning  30 30
Total 100 100

Stage 2 – Computer Based Test

  • The 2nd stage of the exam will be conducted online
  • The questions will be objective type with multiple choices
  • The duration for the exam is 120 minutes for PwBD candidates with scribe and 90 minutes for non-PwBD candidates
  • 1/3rd mark will be cut for the purpose of negative marking
  • There will be a total of 120 questions The section-wise distribution of marks is given below : 
Exam duration Sections  No. of Questions Marks
90 minutes General Awareness 50 50
Mathematics  35 35
General Intelligence and Reasoning  35 35
Total 120 120
  • Candidates will be shortlisted for Stage 2 CBT on the basis of the normalized marks obtained in Stage 1 CBT, and various posts that they have applied for
  • The total number of shortlisted candidates will be 20 times the community-wise vacancies as per the merit in Stage 1 CBT cum choice of posts
  • The railway has the right to increase or decrease the limit for specific or total categories to ensure the availability of adequate candidates for the vacancies

Computer-Based Aptitude Test 

  • The test is applicable only to students who applied for Traffic Assistant and Station Master vacancies
  • Candidates must get a minimum T-Score of 42 in all the test batteries to qualify. This applies to all candidates, regardless of community or category, and there is no relaxation in the minimum T- Score
  • Applicants equivalent to 8 times the number of positions for Station Master (SM)/Traffic Assistant (TA) for each of the communities, i.e. UR, OBC-NCL, SC, ST, and EWS (including ExSM), will be selected for CBAT depending upon their performance in the 2nd Stage CBT. Shortlisted candidates must present the Vision Certificate in the appropriate format, in original, during the CBAT, otherwise, they will not be allowed to take part in the CBAT
  • Candidates must pass each of the CBAT test batteries in order to be considered for the position of SM/TA. Only English and Hindi will be available for questions and answers on the CBAT. In CBAT, there will be no negative marking
  • Only candidates who pass the CBAT will be selected for the SM/TA merit list, which will be based on 70 percent of the marks acquired in the 2nd Stage CBT and 30 percent of the marks received in the CBAT

Typing Skill Test 

  • The Typing Skill Test will be held for positions of Senior Clerk cum Typist, Junior Accounts Assistant cum Typist, Senior Time Keeper, Junior Clerk cum Typist, Accounts Clerk cum Typist, and Junior Time Keeper. The marks acquired in the typing skill test will not be added for making merit. A qualifying typing skill test (TST) will be held, with a number of candidates equivalent to eight times the number of openings for each community 
  • Candidates must be able to type 30 words per minute (WPM) in English or 25 words per minute (WPM) in Hindi on a personal computer with no editing tools or spell check
  • The Kruti Dev and Mangal fonts will be made available for typing skill tests on personal computers as guidelines for people who take the Hindi typing test
  • Candidates who are permanently incapacitated owing to Blindness/Low Vision, Cerebral Palsy, or Loco Motor Disability with a permanent disability of at least 40% may be exempt from the Typing Skill Test. Before taking the typing skill exam in the prescribed format, such eligible PwBD candidates must provide a scanned copy of the Typing Skill Test Exemption Certificate granted by the Competent Medical Board to the relevant RRBs’ website. Only TST qualifying or TST exempted PwBD applicants will be given a score based on their performance in the 2nd Stage CBT

Frequently Asked Questions

Get the most common frequently asked questions on RRB NTPC Exam Pattern.

What is the exam pattern for RRB NTPC?

The RRB NTPC exam consists of multiple stages, including Computer Based Tests (CBTs) for different subjects, skill tests, and document verification...Read full

How many stages are there in the RRB NTPC exam?

The RRB NTPC exam comprises various stages, including the preliminary stage (1st Stage CBT) and the mains stage (2nd Stage CBT), followed by skill ...Read full

What are the subjects covered in the RRB NTPC Computer Based Tests?

The Computer Based Tests of RRB NTPC cover subjects such as Mathematics, General Intelligence and Reasoning, General Awareness, and General Science...Read full

Is there negative marking in the RRB NTPC exam?

Yes, there is negative marking in the RRB NTPC exam. For every incorrect answer, a certain number of marks will be deducted from the total score....Read full

How is the final merit list prepared for RRB NTPC?

The final merit list for RRB NTPC is prepared based on the combined scores obtained in the various stages of the exam, along with the performance i...Read full