Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
Khilafat and Non-co-operation (in Hindi)
1,854 plays

This lesson has description about the status of Bihar during Khilafat and Non cooperation movement of India's struggle for freedom.

Kumar Madhukar
My YouTube: KM Learning (contact - 7977012627)

Unacademy user
sorry mains k view se v padhiye pls
Kumar Madhukar
10 months ago
Watch my new course ...200 hundred important questions... already uploaded.
10 months ago
thank you sir
thank you for this sir
Kumar Madhukar
10 months ago my course on mains also..
very refined facts. thanks
Kumar Madhukar
a year ago
thank you for feedback...plz keep watching my lessons and attend my special live class also.
  1. Khilafat Movement Background of Khilafat and Non-co-operation Movement: 1. The end of First World war(1914-18) resulted into misbehaviour of Mitra nations with Caliph of Turkey. British ditched Indian Muslim by non-fulfilling its promise towards Caliph of Turkey. 2. Rowlatt Act, Jalianwala Massacre(1919) and Report of Hunter Commission 3. Dissatisfaction with Montagu-Chelmford Reform. 4. Hindu-Muslim unity in Lucknow Congress Session in 1916 Khilafat Movement . It was launched by Ali-Brothers Muhammad Ali and Shaukat Ali who formed Khilafat Committee with other leaders such Mulana Azad,Hakim Azmal Khan and Hasrat Mohani. It was supported by Congress also to tap the golden moment of Hindu Muslim unity.

  2. All India Khilafat Conference held at Delhi in Nov. 1919 and decided to withdraw all cooperation from Government if demand is not met. .On 15 and 16 May, 1919, Muslim Ulemas of Fulwari Sharif, in Patna, conducted meeting and decided to withdraw all cooperation from Government. And similarly, Bihar Province Congress Committee and Bihar Provincial Assembly passed the same resolution In April 1919, Mualana Shaukat Ali came to Patna. Nehrul Hasan resigned from provincial legislation and Shahbuddhin left the title of Ulema and Shah Suleman left the job of Magistrat. Movement run with in unison with Non-cooperation movement of India and ended in the same year 1922.

  3. Non cooperation Movement Proposal for Non-cooperation movement was passed in Culcutta Congress Session in 1920 which was finally stamped in its annual session of Nagpur in December 1920. * 1st August, 1920 Non-cooperation Movement was launched and on the same day in morning, Tilak ji expired. Bihar provincial assembly met on 28-29 August,1920 under the leadership of Rajendera Prasad who advocated for Non-Cooperation Movement. Non- cooperation proposal was put up by Dharnidhar of Darbangha which was seconded by Shah Muhammad Jubair of Munger, Gulam Imam of Patna and Gorakh Prasad of Motihari. In support of the movement, Mazrul Haq, Rajendra Prasad, Brijkishor Prasad and other withdrew their names from legislative election. Some of them boycotted courts. Mahendra Prasad, Anugrah Narayan Singh, Brijnandan Prasad were among them.

  4. Since, students were also participating leaving their study, so a National College was set up in between Patna-Gaya route and Rajendra Prasad as Prinicpal. . Bihar Vidyapith was inaugurated on 6 February, 1921 in the campus of National College by Mahatma Gandhi and Mazrul Haq was made Chancellor and Brijkishor Prasad as Vice-chancellor. Mazrul Haq created Sadakat Ashram in Digha, Patna for the training of youths from where he published journal/newspaper," The Motherland" in 1921. In 1921, Prince of Wales arrived India and visited Patna on 22 December, 1921. Whole city was agitating and celebrating strike/ hartal to express their disappointment and opposition. Finally with the Chaura-chauri incident, Non-Cooperation movement was stopped by Gandhiji.