Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
Civil Disobedience Movement (in Hindi)
863 plays

This lesson has wide description about the Civil disobedience movement in Bihar.

Kumar Madhukar
My YouTube: KM Learning (contact - 7977012627)

Unacademy user
what was chaukidari tax system
Kumar Madhukar
a year ago
to look after or supervise the local area on behalf of British official.
Himanshu Ranjan
a year ago
for crops, or in a general way for local protection
Himanshu Ranjan
a year ago
this tax belongs to only Bihar or else state too
Himanshu Ranjan
a year ago
supervising for what purpose
  1. Civil Disobedience Movement Failure of the Simon Commission in 1928 Decline of Demand Charter of 11 points by the Lord Irwin. Lahore Congress Session of 1929, presided by Jawahar Lal Nehru, authorized the working committee to launch a programme of Civil Disobedience. Complete independence proposal was also passed with celebrating independence day on 26 January. Bihar also celebrated it with great vigour and energy on 26 January 1930. Salt Satyagrah 12 March to 5 April, 1930. Gandhiji started with 78 members for the distance of 240 miles.

  2. . Propaganda followed in the movement: Non-payment of taxes No liquor or foreign cloth . No Chaukidari Tax Boycott of courts by lawyers and public .Affected areas: Champaran .Saran, Chhapra Muzaffarpur Patna Bhagalpur .Purnia Munger .Gaya

  3. West Champara Bihar East Champaran Gopalganj Madhubani Kishanganj Supaul L Araria Siwan Muzaffarpur Saran Purnia Saharsa Vaishali Samast Katihar Buxar Begusar hagaria hojpurPatna Bhagalpur Nalanda Kaimur Arwal unger Rohtas Banka Jamui Aurangabad Gaya

  4. . Champaran and Saran were more affected with the movement and started Salt Satyagrah in the form of non-payment of Chauwkidari tax. .In Patna, Shri Ambikakant Singh and Rambriksh Benipuri supported it and gathered at Narwaspind with energetic youth supporters. Benipuri ji was arrested in this event. . Swadeshi Association was also set up in Patna in 1930 in streamline of this movement and Sir Ali Imam was made president of it. In Saran, Chhapra Jail incident i.e. naked strike, was very famous in this civil disobedience. Jamuna Singh, president of Sararn Union Board, resigned in support of non-payment of Chauwkidari Tax.