Daily News Analysis » Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC)

Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC)

The Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) has approved India's plan to create international millets standards.

Why in news?

The Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) has approved India’s plan to create international millets standards.

About news: 

  • For 15 different species of millets, the FSSAI has established group standards that include eight quality factors, such as maximums for moisture content and uric acid level.
  • It coincided with the celebration of International Year of Millets (2023).
  • It was proposed by India to raise awareness about the benefits of millet. 

About CAC:

  • 1963: Established jointly by World Health Organization (WHO)  and Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).
  • It has 189 members, including India, and its headquarters are in Rome.
  • Ensuring Food Safety: Its primary focus is on ensuring food safety and protecting consumer health worldwide. 
  • It sets standards for food additives, maximum residue limits for pesticides, and guidelines for food labeling, among other important aspects.
  • Harmonization of Trade: It helps harmonize food regulations across countries, facilitating international trade in food products. 
  • Consumer Protection: It prioritizes consumer protection by establishing standards that ensure food products are safe, properly labeled, and free from contaminants, thereby empowering individuals to make informed choices about the food they consume.
  • Codex standards are voluntary to adopt.