Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
Literary Awards (in Malayalam)
681 plays

This video is about the Important literary Awards given Nationally and in Kerala. Thus is the first part of the lesson

Bibi Mohanan is teaching live on Unacademy Plus

Bibi Mohanan
I have a teaching experience of 7 years . I run two YT channeIs My Notebook & EEE Made Easy. I did M.Tech in photonics and BTech in EEE

Unacademy user
Ornithologist - one who studies about birds
  1. Literary Awards Presented by; Bibi Mohanan

  2. Ezhuthachan Puraskaram highest literary honour given by the Kerala Sahitya Academy, Government of Kerala. The award is named after Ezhuthachan, the father of the Malayalam language consists of a cash prize of Rs 5,00,000 and a citation. . . The prize money was enhanced by 50,000 in 2011 . The award was instituted in 1993 . Sooranad Kunjan Pillai was its first recipient.

  3. Jnanpith Award Award for individual contributions to Literature Instituted in 1961 Awarded for Literary award in India . Sponsored by Bharatiya Jnanpith Reward(s) Rs11 lakh First awarded 1965 . Last awarded 2017 Most recent winner Krishna Sobti Total awarded58 First winner G. Sankara Kurup

  4. .From 1965 till 1981, the award wa:s given to the authors for their "most outstand ing work" consisted of a citation plaque, a cash prize of 1 lakh and a bronze replica of Saraswati The first recipient - the Malayalam writer G. Sankara Kurup(1965) for his collection of poems, Odakkuzhal (The Bamboo Flute), published in 1950

  5. Jnanpith Award . As of 2015, the cash prize has been revised to 11 lakh and out of twenty-three eligible languages the award has been presented for works in fifteen languages: Hindi (eleven), Kannada (eight), Bengali (six), Malayalam (five), Gujarati, Marathi, Odia, and Urdu (four each), Telugu (three), Assamese, Punjabi, and Tamil (two each), Kashmiri, Konkani, and Sanskrit (one each)

  6. The award has been conferred upon fifty-seven writers including seven women authors. . In 1976, Bengali novelist Ashapoorna Devi became the first woman to win the award (1965 novel Pratham Pratisruti -The First Promise), The most recent recipient of the award -Krishna Sobti (Hindi fiction writer and essayist )who was awarded for the year 2017

  7. List of Important Literature Prize winners from kerala Ezhuthachan Award 2017 K Satchidanandan C. Radhakrishnan Puthussery Ramachandran . Ezhuthachan Award 2016 Ezhuthachan Award 2015-

  8. Vallathol Award 2017 Prabha Varma Vallathol Award 2016 Sreekumaran Thampi Vallathol Award 2015- Anand

  9. Vayalar Award 2017 -T D Ramakrishnan (Book-uyomu1 Vayalar Award 2016 - U.K Kumaran (Novel- Thakshankunnu Swaroopam) Vayalar Award 2015 Subhash Chandran (Book- Manushyanu Oru Aamukham)

  10. Sahitya Akademi Award . Sahitya Akademi Award is given each year, since 1955 by Sahitya Akademi (India's National Academy of Letters) . to Indian writers for their outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the 24 major Indian languages.

  11. Muttathu Varkey Award for contributions to the field of Malayalam literature is instituted by the Muthattu Varkey Foundation in memory of novelist Muttathu Varkey. The award was instituted in 1992 and as of 2012, it carries a purse of Rs 50000, a citation, and a statuette. .The awa rds are usually announced on 28 April (the birth anniversary of Varkey) and presented on 28 May (the death anniversary of Varkey) every year.

  12. Vallathol Award . Award:s Year Recipient . 1991 Pala Narayanan Nair 2017 Prabha Varma

  13. Vayalar Award .List of Awardees .1977 Lalithambika Antharjanam Agnisakshi .2017 T. D. Ramakrishnan Sugandhi Enna Andal Devanayaki

  14. Mathrubhumi Literary Award 2017- MK Sanu Mathrubhumi Literary Award 2016 C. Radhakrishnan Mathrubhumi Literary Award 2015 - T Padmanabhan Muttathu Varkey Award 2017- T.V Chandran George Ramakrishnan (Sugandhi Enna . Muttathu Varkey Award 2016- KG .Malayattoor Award 2016 - TD Andal Devanayaki)

  15. Malayattoor Award 2015- V. Madhusoodanan Nair(Achchan Piranna Veedu) Asan Poetry Prize 2016-Ezhachery Ramachandran Asan Poetry Prize 2015 - Chemmanam Chacko O. V. Vijayan Literary Award 2016 Chandramathi o. V. Vijayan Literary Award 2015-Mrs Ushakumari O. V. Vijayan Literary Award 2014- B. Kajeevan Ulloor Award 2016-Ragunathan Kulathur Ulloor Award 2015 - Attur Ravi Varma