Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
The Theosophical Society
4,002 plays

This lesson discusses the Theosophical Society and Annie Besant.

Nandini Maharaj
MA in Applied Human Rights from Sheffield Hallam University, BA (Hons.) History from LSR, reader, dancer, love to teach, AIR 42 in 2018 UPSC

Unacademy user
hey, good job do it with consistency. I appreciate you
thanks mam, you can made the video topics on the social movement
Thank you, Nandini :)
mam please make video on wahabi movement and satyashodak samaj
sorry...u have covered it already
First Indian Women President of INC Sarojini Naidu.
Annie Besant is the first female President of INC she was not Indian

  2. ABOUT ME BA (Hons.) in History from Lady Shri Ram MA in Applied Human Rights from Sheffield Hallam University Love to teach, read and dance

  3. THE THEOSOPHICAL SOCIETY 1875 -Founded in Ney York City, USA Founded by Madame HP Blavatsky and Col. Olcott Inspired by Indian (Hindu) thought and culture .In 1882, international headquarters established at Ayadar, Madras Popularized by Annie Besant

  4. BELEIFS Relationship between God and soul is achieved through meditation, contemplation, prayer etc Faith In karma and reincarnation Faith in karma and reincarnation Universal brotherhood, humanity without distinction -inspired by Vedanta thought, Upanishads, etc.

  5. IMPACT .Common denominator for various Hindu sects .United educated Hindus Glorified Indian thought and past thus gave self-respect and confidence to Hindus False sense of pride by glorifying outdated, repressive ideas? Impact limited to small fraction of westernized and western educated hindus

  6. ANNIE BESANT 1847-1933 British social, theosophist, women's rights activist, writer, orator and supporter of Indian and Irish self-rule Leading speaker for the Fabian society and the Marxist Socialist Democratic Federation (SDF) 1898-helped establish the Central Hindu College, Benaras (under BHU now) . ' . 1907 President of the Theosophical Society Member and first female President (1917) of the INC Launched Home Rule League movement