Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
15 lessons,
2h 38m
Centre State Relations - Authorities - P1
442 plays

In this lesson, all details about interstate Council - Article number, composition and functions are explained

Deepika Reddy Magham is teaching live on Unacademy Plus

Deepika Reddy Magham
BCA, LLB, MBA; Director, Shikara IAS Academy; 10 years experience in teaching Indian Polity, Ethics, Indian Society and Social Justice.

Unacademy user
I had better to tell that in ISC every resolution or bill will be approved by FULL member(all members should approve )2017 appsc group 2 question
Lakshmipathi it is not mentioned anywhere in the Constitution. There is no formal voting procedure within Inter state Council
Thanks Shubham

  2. INTER STATE COUNCIL According to Art 263 the President can establish an interstate council if it is required in public interest. Interstate council is a non-permanent constitutional body, appointed by the President through Presidential order under the condition in the public interest.

  3. INTER STATE COUNCIL The Interstate Council performs the following functions 1. To enquire in to disputes among the states and advise upon to resolve such dispute. 2. To investigate and discuss subject on which some or all the states or the union and one or more states have a common interest. 3. To make recommendations on any such subjects in particular recommendations for better coordination of policy and action with respect to that subject.

  4. INTER STATE COUNCIL The first inter-state council was established in 1990 on the recommendations of the first centre-state commission Sarkaria Commission The Council is headed by the PM, CMs of all states and administrators of UTs and 6 Union ministers of cabinet rank are members of the counci The council when constituted meets thrice a year

  5. ZONAL COUNCILS These are statutory bodies established under the State's Reorganization Act 1956. Five zonal councils were initially established with a view of discussing and advising upon on matters of common interest to the states in the zone.

  6. ZONAL COUNCILS The five zonal councils: i) Central Zone - Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh i) Western Zone - Maharashtra, Gujarat Goa, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu. ii) Eastern Zone - Bihar, West Bengal, Orissa, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Sikkim, Andaman & Nicobar.

  7. ZONAL COUNCILS iv) Southern Zone Karnataka, Tamilnadu, Kerala & Pondicherry v) Northern Zone - Uttarakhand, Punjab, Rajasthan, Jammu and Kashmir, National capital territory of Delhi and Chandigarh. Vi) Northern States Nagaland, Tripura, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur. Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Arunacha Pradesh, Assam,

  8. ZONAL COUNCILS Each zonal council is headed by the Union Home Minister Chief Ministers of member states, two other state ministers nominated by the governor of that state and administrators of Union Territories are members of the zonal councils