Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
Special Areas (Part X) - Sixth Schedule
1,253 plays

In this lesson, administrative features of the 6th schedule are dealt in detail.

Ashna Sisodia is teaching live on Unacademy Plus

Ashna Sisodia
PSIR Optional Faculty, having scored 125+ in the prelims and 140 in Essay Paper and 110+ each in GS Papers in the UPSC Mains 2017.

Unacademy user
thanks mam I want to one thing more add regarding approaches. Scientific and humanistic approaches are given by CRONBACH IN 1982.
Aasia JOHN
a month ago
Thank you so much mam.. you have very nicely explained the whole chapter and in a concise manner.
Thankyou mam for the Awesome course.... Go ahead with more such courses....We are awaiting for them... :) THANKYOU
Thank you very much ........for this simple course....saving lot of revision time for aspirants....
Pls make video on comprehensive cover of all amenments have so far in our constitution
  1. Course: Union Territories & Special Areas Lesson: Special Areas (Part X) Presented by : Ashna Sisodia

  2. Administration of Tribal Areas Features of administration contained in the Sixth Schedule are as follows: 1. The tribal areas in the four states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram have been constituted as autonomous districts. But, they do not fall outside the executive authority of the state concerned. . . . 2. The governor is empowered to organise and re-organise the autonomous districts. Thus, he can increase or decrease their areas or change their names or define their boundaries and so on. ous districts. Thus, he can inc . 3. If there are different tribes in an autonomous district, the governor can divide the district into several autonomous regions.

  3. Administration of Tribal Areas 4. Each autonomous district has a district council consisting of 30 members, of whom four are nominated by the governor and the remaining 26 are elected on the basis of adult franchise. The elected members hold office for a term of five years (unless the council is dissolved earlier) . nominated members hold office during the pleasure of the governor. . Each autonomous region also has a separate regional council 5. The district and regional councils administer the areas under their jurisdiction. They can make laws on certain specified matters like land, forests, canal water, shifting cultivation, village administration, inheritance of property, marriage and divorce, social customs and so on. But all such laws require the assent of the governor.

  4. Administration of Tribal Areas 6. The district and regional councils within their territorial jurisdictions can constitute village councils or courts for trial of suits and cases between the tribes. They hear appeals from them. . The jurisdiction of high court over these suits and cases is specified by the governor. 7. The district council can establish, construct or manage primary schools, dispensaries, markets, ferries, fisheries, roads and so on in the district. It can also make regulations for the control of money lending and trading by non-tribals. But, such regulations require the assent of the governor. 8. The district and regional councils are empowered to assess and collect land revenue and to impose certain specified taxes.

  5. Administration of Tribal Areas 9. The acts of Parliament or the state legislature do not apply to autonomous districts and autonomous regions or apply with specified modifications and exceptions. The power of direction, in this regard, lies either with the president or governor. Thus, in the case of Assam, it lies with the Governor, both in respect of acts of Parliament or state legislature In the case of Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram, it lies with the president in respect of acts of Parliament and governor in respect of acts of state legislature. 10. The governor can appoint a commission to examine and report on any matter relating to the administration of the autonomous districts or regions. He may dissolve a district or regional council on the recommendation of the commission. .

  6. Administration of Tribal Areas States Tribal Areas 1 Assam 1. The North Cachar Hills District. 2. The Karbi Anglong District 3. The Bodoland Temtorial Areas District 1. Khasi Hils District. 2. 2. Meghalaya Jaintia Hills District. | The Garo Hills District. Tripura Tribal Areas District 3. Tripura Mizoram 1. The Chakma District. 2. 2. The Mara District. 3. The Lai District.

  7. Important Notes: - At present (2013), nine states of india have scheduled areas . At present (2013), nine states of India have scheduled areas. These are: Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha and Rajasthan. . Presently (2013), there are a total of ten tribal areas.