Back to Plus

Upcoming Indian Economy
Jatin Verma

341k followers

In this course, Jatin Verma will cover all the important aspects of Indian Economy and related Current Affairs relevant to the UPSC Civil Services Exam, other Exams conducted by UPSC and the State PSC exams. This course will also be relevant for Economy section of SSC, Banking and other Govt exams.

About this course
Live Sessions

The course consists of 62 sessions of 1 hour duration each. Session recording will be provided for all the sessions.

Discussion Forums

Access to a private forum moderated by Jatin Verma where you can discuss and debate with your peers, access learning material and more.

Personalized Learning

All learners will have access to weekly doubt clearing sessions, live quizzes, learning materials and discussion with peers.

All the important issues facing Indian Economy with recent developments.  Covering important Prelims oriented factual details as well as analytical issues from all the relevant books: NCERTs, Ramesh Singh, Mishra & Puri, Uma Kapila, Sanjeev Verma, Amartya Sen’s Model, EPW magazines [Relevant articles].  Economic Survey & Budget 2017-18: Coverage of Key Points [Previous year’s Budget & Economic Survey]  

Latest Economic Survey 2018 & Budget 2018-19: Detailed discussion. All the Important Current Affairs issues like GST, Demonetisation, Ease of Doing Business, Indian economy related S.C. judgements - Vodafone case; Novartis judgement- Evergreening of Patents, Coal scam.  Tips on Mains Answer writing: How to interpret words like Critically Analyse, Examine, Elucidate depending on the wording of the statement in the question.  How to understand, analyse, and inter-link Economy related issues in a broader framework. 
Course Curriculum

The course is divided into 62 sessions in total, and will offer personalised guidance and doubt-clearing to all the learners part of the limited batch.

  • 27th January to 25th May 2018
  • Class Timings: 8:30 am - 9:30 am
1
Orientation
Saturday, 27th January, 8:30 am
2
Sectors of Economy
Monday, 29th January, 8:30 am
3
Concept of GDP, Importance of Service Sector, Underemployment, How to create employment
Wednesday, 31st January, 8:30 am
4
Organised and Unorganised Sector, Formal and Informal Sector
Friday, 2nd February, 8:30 am
5
Protection of worker in All Sectors, GDP/NDP/GNP/NNP, Income and Expenditure Method
Tuesday, 6th February, 8:30 am
6
Basics of Macroeconomics
Thursday, 8th February, 8:30 am
7
Circular Flow of Income
Monday, 12th February, 8:30 am
8
Economic Growth, GDP, Nominal GDP, Real GDP, GDP deflator, GDP@FC, GDP@MP
Wednesday, 14th February, 8:30 am
9
Ways of calculating GDP
Friday, 16th February, 8:30 am
10
GDP vs GNP, Depreciation, Business Cycle, Per Capita Income, PPP, Bell’s curve, GDP calculation
Tuesday, 20th February, 8:30 am
11
Changes in method of calculation of GDP, Drawback of GDP, Green GDP, revision of Base Year
Wednesday, 21st February, 8:30 am
12
GDP at Enterprise level, Types of GDP estimates, Alternatives to GDP, Elements of Good governance
Thursday, 22nd February, 8:30 am
13
Human Development Report
Friday, 23rd February, 8:30 am
14
Fiscal Policy -1 (Public Finance , Fiscal Policy)
Monday, 26th February, 8:30 am
15
Fiscal Policy -1 (Types of Fiscal policy, components of fiscal policy)
Tuesday, 27th February, 8:30 am
16
Fiscal Policy -1 (Methods of taxation, Classification of taxes)
Wednesday, 28th February, 8:30 am
17
Fiscal Policy -1 (STT, Types of Indirect tax, VAT, VAT in India)
Friday, 2nd March, 8:30 am
18
Good and Services Tax (Part 1)
Monday, 5th March, 8:30 am
19
Good and Services Tax (Part 2)
Tuesday, 6th March, 8:30 am
20
Composition scheme
Thursday, 8th March, 8:30 am
21
GST and others
Friday, 9th March, 8:30 am
22
Financial Market-introduction, speculations
Monday, 12th March, 8:30 am
23
Functions of financial markets, derivatives market
Tuesday, 13th March, 8:30 am
24
Primary and Secondary market, Distinction between Primary and Secondary market, Markets
Wednesday, 14th March, 8:30 am
25
Commodity market, Indian financial market – Introduction, Regulators; Money market
Friday, 16th March, 8:30 am
26
Surprise Quiz on Upcoming Indian Economy
Friday, 16th March, 10:15 am
27
Indian money market: Nidhis
Tuesday, 20th March, 8:30 am
28
Indian money market cont.:call money, repo and reverse repo agreement,Liquidity adjustment facility
Thursday, 22nd March, 8:30 am
29
Indian money market: Commercial bills, papers, certificate of deposits, money market mutual funds.
Monday, 26th March, 8:30 am
30
Indian money market: Functions, characteristics of money market
Wednesday, 28th March, 8:30 am
31
Weekly Live Quiz on Upcoming Indian Economy
Friday, 30th March, 10:02 am
32
Indian money market: Characteristics of money market cont.,Reforms in Indian money market
Friday, 30th March, 8:30 am
33
Weekly Live Quiz on Upcoming Indian Economy
Thursday, 5th April, 9:50 am
34
Capital market Introduction
Tuesday, 3rd April, 8:30 am
35
Capital Market: Primary and secondary capital market, capital market participants
Thursday, 5th April, 8:30 am
36
Capital market: capital market instruments, equity market, common shares, preferred shares
Monday, 9th April, 8:30 am
37
Capital market:credit enhancement guarantee fund,debt market, green & blue bonds, green masala bonds
Wednesday, 11th April, 8:30 am
38
Capital Market: Sovereign gold bond scheme
Friday, 13th April, 8:30 am
39
Capital Market: Gold bond Indexation benefit , derivative market Future and options,
Tuesday, 17th April, 8:30 am
40
Capital Market: Future and options cont. , swaps, P-notes(overseas derivative instrument)
Thursday, 19th April, 8:30 am
41
Capital Market: doubts on swaps, Bharat22, exchange traded fund
Friday, 20th April, 8:30 am
42
Capital Market: Role of capital market, Regulation of capital market, Stock exchange in India.
Monday, 23rd April, 8:30 am
43
Inflation
Tuesday, 24th April, 8:30 am
44
Weekly Live Quiz on Upcoming Indian Economy
Monday, 30th April, 9:45 am
45
Economic Survey V To Monetary Policy & Inflation
Wednesday, 25th April, 8:30 am
46
Objectives & Instruments of MP, CRR, SLR, Repo Rate, Reverse Repo Rate
Friday, 27th April, 8:30 am
47
Weekly Live Quiz on Upcoming Indian Economy
Friday, 4th May, 10:00 am
48
LAF, MSF, Bank Rate, OMO, Market Stabilization Scheme, MP - Framework
Monday, 30th April, 8:30 am
49
Tools of MP - Qualitative & Quantitative, Features of MP, Fiscal Policy v/s MP
Wednesday, 2nd May, 8:30 am
50
Public Finance, Types of Fiscal Policy, Budget (Diff. between Capital and Revenue Budget)
Thursday, 3rd May, 8:30 am
51
Weekly Live Quiz & Fiscal Policy: Basics
Friday, 4th May, 8:30 am
52
Types of Budget, Budget (2018-19)
Saturday, 5th May, 8:30 am
53
Budget 2018 , Rural infrastructure
Thursday, 10th May, 8:30 am
54
Budget 2018 (Education sector, Health sector)
Friday, 11th May, 8:30 am
55
Budget 2018 and infrastructure models(mains)
Saturday, 12th May, 8:30 am
56
Budget 2018 (MSMEs, Infrastructure, financial sector development)
Sunday, 13th May, 8:30 am
57
Budget 2018-Building institution, fiscal management, corporate & LTCG tax, Health & education cess
Monday, 14th May, 8:30 am
58
Budget 2018 analysis , FDI explained, GAAR Rules
Tuesday, 15th May, 8:30 am
59
Banking sector 2
Wednesday, 16th May, 8:30 am
60
Money supply
Thursday, 17th May, 8:30 am
61
Banking Sector: Money supply M0, M1, M2, M3
Saturday, 19th May, 8:30 am
62
External Sector: Capital Account, Current Account
Sunday, 20th May, 8:30 am
63
International Organisations: IMF, World Bank, W.T.O.
Monday, 21st May, 8:30 am
64
International Organisations: W.T.O Ministerial Meetings
Wednesday, 23rd May, 8:30 am
65
Economic Survey-1
Thursday, 24th May, 8:30 am
66
Economic Survey-2
Friday, 25th May, 9:00 am
Show more
About the educator
Jatin Verma
341k followers

Have appeared in UPSC CSE thrice. Have been taking Unacademy Plus courses Academics- Polity, Economics & Current Affairs.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is it a paid course?

Unacademy remains committed to the cause of democratising access to free, high-quality education for everyone and continuing to help millions of students in India and across the world. The live course is part of a new initiative by us to recreate the interaction of an actual classroom online, where you can learn from each of your peers and receive personalized attention from some of the top educators on Unacademy over an extended period of time in small batches. Because of the huge and regular time commitments required of these educators, it is only fair that they are compensated adequately for the same. For this reason and to maintain the tech infrastructure required to conduct the live courses seamlessly online, we charge a nominal fee for these live courses.

How is this different from the free courses?

These live courses are different from the free courses available on Unacademy in a number of ways: These courses are available only to a small batch of the top learners on Unacademy. They give you access to regular and weekly live-sessions with some of the top educators on the platform, where they interact with the batch and personally resolve doubts and queries. They give you access to a private group with other top learners, where you get to discuss, debate and share learning resources under the guidance of the educator. Also, you get access to recordings of the live sessions, downloadable notes and other learning material for a period of 2 years, following which the videos and other content will be automatically deleted and access to the course will no longer be available.

What happens if I miss a class?

Though we actively encourage you to try and attend all the live sessions part of the course, if in case you’re unable to attend a session due to any reason, the recordings of the live sessions will be made available to the batch. You will have access to the recordings and other learning resources.

27th January to 25th May 2018

66 hours of live classes

Private Discussion Forum

Doubt clearing sessions and Live quizzes

10,900

20,000

Includes 18% GST

Notify me about the next batch

Applications closed on 27th Jan

© 2018
Sorting Hat Technologies Pvt Ltd
LEARNER APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App
EDUCATOR APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App