Back to Plus

Indian Polity and Governance
Jatin Verma

244k followers

In this course, Jatin Verma will cover all the important aspects of Indian Polity and Indian Democracy at work relevant for the UPSC Civil Services Exam, other exams conducted by UPSC and the State PSC exams. The course will be conducted in Hinglish (80% English and 20% Hindi) and will be focussed on Prelims.

About this course
Live Sessions

The course consists of 46 sessions of 1 hour 30 mins duration each. Session recording will be provided for all the sessions.

Discussion Forums

Access to a private forum moderated by Jatin Verma where you can discuss and debate with your peers, access learning material and more.

Personalized Learning

All learners will have access to weekly doubt clearing sessions, live quizzes, learning materials and discussion with peers.

In this course, Jatin is covering 33 detailed and comprehensive sessions where all the essential topics related to Indian Polity with the Current Affairs part will be taken. All the important issues facing Contemporary Indian Democracy will be discussed with recent examples. It will also cover important Prelims oriented factual details as well as analytical issues from all the relevant books: IGNOU notes, NCERTs, Granville Austin, M.V. Pylee, Pratap Bhanu Mehta, Frontline magazines (Relevant articles). Jatin will also cover all the Important Current Affairs issues for the topic - Democracy at Work like - Anti Defection Law, One-Nation, One-Poll, RTI Backlog, Analysis of Supreme Court Judgement in the last few years. Here, Salient Recommendations of Important Committees like Second ARC, Punchhi Commission, NCRWC, Law Commission and other relevant topics will be discussed. He will also discuss the tips on Mains answer writing: How to interpret words like Critically Analyse, Examine, Elucidate depending on the wording of the statement in the question. This course will help you to analyze and inter-link Polity and Governance related issue by yourself.  
Course Curriculum

The course is divided into 46 sessions in total, and will offer personalised guidance and doubt-clearing to all the learners part of the limited batch.

  • 2nd March to 24th May 2018
  • Class Timings: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
1
Introduction, judiciary,legislative,executive interface
Friday, 2nd March, 4:00 pm
2
Preamble-features of preamble
Monday, 5th March, 4:00 pm
3
Preamble part 2-justice, evolution of preamble,mains related analysis
Thursday, 8th March, 4:00 pm
4
Preamble continuation-justice,prism of constitutionalism,constitutionalism
Sunday, 11th March, 4:00 pm
5
Constitutionalism continuation, doctrine of judicial review
Monday, 12th March, 4:00 pm
6
Constitutionalism part 3-federalism,doctrine of colorable legislation, doctrine of eclipse, fundamen
Wednesday, 14th March, 4:00 pm
7
Continuation of FR vs DPSP, basic features of constitution
Thursday, 15th March, 4:00 pm
8
FR, human rights, constitutional rights,legal rights, ART 12,13
Saturday, 17th March, 4:00 pm
9
ART 32-Writs-habaes corpus, mandamus, prohibition, certiorari
Tuesday, 20th March, 4:00 pm
10
Art 14- equality before law, equal protection of law, Art 15- RRCSB
Friday, 23rd March, 4:00 pm
11
Art 15- continuation
Monday, 26th March, 4:00 pm
12
Art 15- indra sawhney case, Art16- public employment, reservation cases
Thursday, 29th March, 4:00 pm
13
Weekly Live Quiz on Indian Polity and Governance
Thursday, 29th March, 5:32 pm
14
Weekly Live Quiz on Indian Polity and Governance
Sunday, 1st April, 5:35 pm
15
Art 16-continuation, art 17,18,19
Sunday, 1st April, 4:00 pm
16
Art 19- continuation
Wednesday, 4th April, 4:00 pm
17
Weekly Live Quiz on Indian Polity and Governance
Saturday, 7th April, 5:40 pm
18
Art 19- right to freedom of speech and expression,art 20
Thursday, 5th April, 4:00 pm
19
Quiz on Indian Polity and Governance
Friday, 13th April, 5:40 pm
20
Art 20- continuation, art 21- prism of due process of law
Saturday, 7th April, 4:00 pm
21
Art 21- various cases, implied FR.
Tuesday, 10th April, 4:00 pm
22
Art 21- continuation, right to live
Friday, 13th April, 4:00 pm
23
Weekly Live Quiz on Indian Polity and Governance
Sunday, 22nd April, 5:50 pm
24
Different types of Ministers: Cabinet Minister, Minister of State, Minister of State[IC]
Tuesday, 17th April, 4:00 pm
25
Euthanasia
Wednesday, 18th April, 4:00 pm
26
Weekly Live Quiz on Indian Polity and Governance
Sunday, 29th April, 5:45 pm
27
Golden triangle, art 22
Thursday, 19th April, 4:00 pm
28
Art 23,24,25
Sunday, 22nd April, 4:00 pm
29
Art 25- analysis,art 26,art 27
Monday, 23rd April, 4:00 pm
30
Weekly Live Quiz on Indian Polity and Governance
Saturday, 5th May, 5:30 pm
31
Lingayat issue,art 29,art 30,certriori, quo warranto
Wednesday, 25th April, 4:00 pm
32
Art 33,34,art 35-A, DPSP- ART 36,37,37,39.
Sunday, 29th April, 4:00 pm
33
District & Local Administration:Role of District Collector: An Overburdened functionary
Monday, 30th April, 4:00 pm
34
Socialistic principes, liberal intellectual principles,gandhian principles
Tuesday, 1st May, 4:00 pm
35
Scheduled & Tribal Areas: 73rd Amendment & PESA, Forest Rights Act
Friday, 4th May, 4:00 pm
36
Implementation of DPSP, FR vs DPSP-various cases
Saturday, 5th May, 4:00 pm
37
NCRWC-on DPSP,swaran singh committee, fundamental duties-NCRWC Report
Sunday, 6th May, 4:00 pm
38
President- introduction,election method
Monday, 7th May, 4:00 pm
39
Parliament
Wednesday, 9th May, 4:00 pm
40
President, qualification,conditions, term, re election, impeachment, office of profit, etc
Thursday, 10th May, 4:00 pm
41
President & Parliament
Friday, 11th May, 4:00 pm
42
Parliament-2
Saturday, 12th May, 4:00 pm
43
Parliament-3
Sunday, 13th May, 4:30 pm
44
Parliament-4
Monday, 14th May, 4:00 pm
45
Weekly Live Quiz on Indian Polity and Governance
Monday, 14th May, 5:40 pm
46
Non- Constitutional Bodies: NHRC; CVC; NCBC; NITI Aayog; Chief Information Commission
Tuesday, 15th May, 4:00 pm
47
Role of civil services in a Democracy
Thursday, 17th May, 4:00 pm
48
Development Processes & the Development Industry ; Role of NGOs, SHGs, Donors & Charities
Friday, 18th May, 4:00 pm
49
Parliament of India
Sunday, 20th May, 4:00 pm
50
State Legislature
Monday, 21st May, 4:00 pm
51
Governor
Tuesday, 22nd May, 4:00 pm
52
Constitutional Bodies
Wednesday, 23rd May, 4:00 pm
53
PRIs
Thursday, 24th May, 4:00 pm
Show more
About the educator
Jatin Verma
244k followers

Have appeared in UPSC CSE thrice. Have been taking Unacademy Plus courses since November 2017. Academics- Polity, Economics n Pub Admn.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is it a paid course?

Unacademy remains committed to the cause of democratising access to free, high-quality education for everyone and continuing to help millions of students in India and across the world. The live course is part of a new initiative by us to recreate the interaction of an actual classroom online, where you can learn from each of your peers and receive personalized attention from some of the top educators on Unacademy over an extended period of time in small batches. Because of the huge and regular time commitments required of these educators, it is only fair that they are compensated adequately for the same. For this reason and to maintain the tech infrastructure required to conduct the live courses seamlessly online, we charge a nominal fee for these live courses.

How is this different from the free courses?

These live courses are different from the free courses available on Unacademy in a number of ways: These courses are available only to a small batch of the top learners on Unacademy. They give you access to regular and weekly live-sessions with some of the top educators on the platform, where they interact with the batch and personally resolve doubts and queries. They give you access to a private group with other top learners, where you get to discuss, debate and share learning resources under the guidance of the educator. Also, you get access to recordings of the live sessions, downloadable notes and other learning material.

What happens if I miss a class?

Though we actively encourage you to try and attend all the live sessions part of the course, if in case you’re unable to attend a session due to any reason, the recordings of the live sessions will be made available to the batch. You will have access to the recordings and other learning resources.
© 2015-2017
Sorting Hat Technologies Pvt Ltd
LEARNER APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App
EDUCATOR APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App