Sign up now
to enroll in courses, follow best educators, interact with the community and track your progress.
Union and its Territories 5.3
4,517 plays

This lesson discusses the Started Reorganization Commissions till 1956, and the Indian States in 1956.

Nandini Maharaj is teaching live on Unacademy Plus

Nandini Maharaj
MA in Applied Human Rights from Sheffield Hallam University, BA (Hons.) History from LSR, reader, dancer, love to teach, AIR 42 in 2018 UPSC

Unacademy user
super se bhi upar
mam , in reorganisation of states topic , there are 14 states and 6 UTs created after 1956 CA but mam you missed MYSORE in the list
a year ago
yes ur correct vushal..mam please keep this small small things in while making sessions
Thanks a lot Maharaj...... great job.... please continue the course....
karnataka formerly mysuru was missing
Santhosh Kumar M
2 years ago

  2. ABOUT ME o BA (Hons.) History e Lady Shri Ram College for Women MA Applied Human Rights Sheffield Hallam University o Kapila Hingorani Scholar o Hobbies: reading, dancing o Rate, review and recommend! o Follow me e

  3. TOPICS o States Reorganisation Commissions o States and UT's in 1956

  4. REORGANISATION OF STATES o Initially, ad-hoc structuring on states in four parts o Demand for reorganisation on linguistic basis o June 1948: Linguistic Provinces Commission appointed o Chair: SK Dhar o Suggested administrative convenience over Linguistic reorganisation

  5. REORGANISATION OF STATES o December 1948: JPV Commitbee o Dawaharlal Nehru, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel and Pattabhi Sitaramayya o Rejected Language as basis for reorganisation.

  6. REORGANISATION OF STATES o October 1953: Government forced to create Andhra Pradesh out of Madras on linguistic basis o Extended agitation and death of Gandhian activist and prominent Congress leader Potti Sriramuli after a 56 day hunger strike o December 1963: 3 member States Reorganisation Commission appointed under Fazl Ali KM Panikkar and HN Kunzru

  7. REORGANISATION OF STATES o Rejected one language one state theory o 4 factors should be considered while states rearganisation o Unity and security of India o Linguistic and cultural homogeneity o Considerations of finance, the economy and administration o Welfare of people and nation

  8. REORGANISATION OF STATES Ts over the existing 4-park division of states e Recommendations accepted States Reorganisation Act 1956 o 7th CA 1966 14 states and 6 UTs created.

  9. REORGANISATION OF STATES o 1956: o STATES: A ndhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Bombay , 3K, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Madras, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal o UNION TERRITORIES: Andaman and Nicobar Islands; Delhi; Himachal Pradesh; Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands; Manipur; Tripura

  10. Thank you :) FolLow me C