Back to Plus

Public Administration Optional for UPSC Mains 2019
Siva Prasad

14k followers

This course will cover the entire syllabus of Public Administration optional subject for both paper I and paper II with respect to the demands of the UPSC civil services mains examination. The course focuses on conceptual clarity for tackling questions related to administrative thinkers by providing learners with a simplified version of the administrative theories with abundant examples.

About this course
Live Sessions

The course consists of 69 sessions of 2 hours duration each. Session recording will be provided for all the sessions.

Discussion Forums

Access to a private forum moderated by Siva Prasad where you can discuss and debate with your peers, access learning material and more.

Personalized Learning

All learners will have access to weekly doubt clearing sessions, live quizzes, learning materials and discussion with peers.

In this course, learners will get 70 detailed sessions of 1.5 hours (90 minutes) each, covering the entire syllabus of the Public administration optional subject. Conceptual clarity with respect to the ideas/theories of the administrative thinkers. Previous years questions related to the topics covered will be discussed at the end of the session. Doubt clearing sessions at the beginning of every class. Dedicated sessions for improving answer writing in mains examination. How to approach public administration questions and how to write answers that will make you score more than the others. Mock questions will be made available at the end of the course along the same lines of UPSC exam paper. Interlinking topics with current developments/ current affairs. Given the overlapping topics, ample fodder points for paper II (Polity & Governance) and Paper IV (Ethics) will be ready with the student.  
Course Curriculum

The course is divided into 69 sessions in total, and will offer personalised guidance and doubt-clearing to all the learners part of the limited batch.

  • 30th September to 5th April 2019
  • Class Timings: 5:30 am - 7:30 am
1
Meaning, Scope and Significance of Public Administration & and Evolution
Sunday, 30th September, 5:30 am
2
Woodrow Wilsons vision of Pub Ad
Saturday, 6th October, 5:30 am
3
Scientific Management Theory - Taylor
Friday, 12th October, 5:30 am
4
Webers Bureaucratic theory of Organisation Part I
Wednesday, 17th October, 5:30 am
5
Webers Bureaucratic theory of Organisation Part II & Karl Marx
Thursday, 18th October, 5:30 am
6
New Public Administration & New Public Management
Friday, 19th October, 5:30 am
7
Public Choice theory and Minnow-brook conferences
Monday, 22nd October, 5:30 am
8
Administrative Management Theory & Classical Theory of Organisation
Tuesday, 23rd October, 5:30 am
9
Human Relations theory- E Mayo
Wednesday, 24th October, 5:30 am
10
Ideas of M P Follet
Thursday, 25th October, 5:30 am
11
Ideas of Chester Bernard
Friday, 26th October, 5:30 am
12
Decision Making Theory - Herbert Simon
Friday, 2nd November, 5:30 am
13
Comparative Public Administration - Part I
Monday, 5th November, 5:30 am
14
Comparative Public Administration - Part II
Thursday, 8th November, 5:30 am
15
Development Dynamics - Part I
Friday, 9th November, 5:30 am
16
Development Dynamics - Part II
Monday, 12th November, 5:30 am
17
Theories of Motivation
Thursday, 15th November, 5:30 am
18
McGregor and Argyris
Friday, 16th November, 5:30 am
19
Theories of Leadership and Renis Likert
Monday, 19th November, 5:30 am
20
Peter Drucker and Management by Objectives
Tuesday, 20th November, 5:30 am
21
Dwight Waldo, Summary and Contingency theories
Wednesday, 21st November, 5:30 am
22
Public Policy - Part 1
Monday, 26th November, 5:30 am
23
Public Policy - Part 2
Monday, 3rd December, 5:30 am
24
Administrative Law
Tuesday, 4th December, 5:30 am
25
Techniques of Administrative Improvement
Wednesday, 12th December, 5:30 am
26
Strategy for tackling Paper I questions & Mock questions
Friday, 14th December, 5:30 am
27
Kautilyas Arthashastra
Monday, 17th December, 5:30 am
28
Evolution of Indian Administration under British Rule
Tuesday, 18th December, 5:30 am
29
Total Recall
Wednesday, 19th December, 5:30 am
30
Political Culture and Constitutionalism with Salient features
Wednesday, 26th December, 5:30 am
31
Parliamentary Democracy
Thursday, 27th December, 5:30 am
32
President
Friday, 28th December, 5:30 am
33
Prime Minister
Wednesday, 2nd January, 5:30 am
34
Judiciary Phases and Evolution
Thursday, 3rd January, 5:30 am
35
Financial Administration - Part I
Monday, 7th January, 5:30 am
36
Financial Administration - Part II
Tuesday, 8th January, 5:30 am
37
Financial Administration - Part III
Wednesday, 9th January, 5:30 am
38
Financial Administration - Part IV
Monday, 14th January, 5:30 am
39
Financial Administration - Part V
Wednesday, 16th January, 5:30 am
40
Financial Administration - Part VI
Monday, 21st January, 5:30 am
41
Civil Services in India - Part I
Tuesday, 22nd January, 5:30 am
42
Comparing Constitution - Part I
Tuesday, 22nd January, 5:30 am
43
Civil Services in India - Part II
Wednesday, 23rd January, 5:30 am
44
Civil Services in India - Part III
Monday, 28th January, 5:30 am
45
PYQs - Part II
Monday, 28th January, 5:30 am
46
Personnel Administration - Part I
Tuesday, 29th January, 5:30 am
47
Personnel Administration - Part II
Wednesday, 30th January, 5:30 am
48
Plans and Priorities
Wednesday, 6th February, 5:30 am
49
Public Sector Undertakings
Tuesday, 12th February, 5:30 am
50
Center State Relationship
Wednesday, 13th February, 5:30 am
51
Center State Relationship and Administrative aspects of Governance
Monday, 18th February, 5:30 am
52
Administrative Aspects of Governance
Tuesday, 19th February, 5:30 am
53
Administrative Reforms
Wednesday, 20th February, 5:30 am
54
District Administration
Monday, 25th February, 5:30 am
55
Constitution Bodies and Regulatory Bodies - Part I
Tuesday, 26th February, 5:30 am
56
Rural Development
Monday, 4th March, 5:30 am
57
Urban Local Government
Tuesday, 5th March, 5:30 am
58
Law and Order Administration - Part I
Wednesday, 6th March, 5:30 am
59
Law and Order Administration - Part II
Monday, 11th March, 5:30 am
60
Law and Order Administration - Part III
Tuesday, 12th March, 5:30 am
61
Disaster management
Wednesday, 13th March, 5:30 am
62
Disaster management
Monday, 18th March, 5:30 am
63
Accountability and Control - Legislative, Executive and Judiciary
Tuesday, 19th March, 5:30 am
64
Accountability and Control - RTI, Citizens charter , Social Audit
Wednesday, 20th March, 5:30 am
65
Role of NGO and Civil Society Org.
Monday, 25th March, 5:30 am
66
Comparing Constitution - Part II
Wednesday, 27th March, 5:30 am
67
Total Recall
Monday, 1st April, 5:30 am
68
PYQs - Part I
Tuesday, 2nd April, 5:30 am
69
Ethics in Governance
Thursday, 4th April, 5:30 am
70
Organisational theories & some important concepts; SMT
Friday, 5th April, 5:30 am
Show more
About the educator
Siva Prasad
14k followers

Alumni- Indian Institute of Science(IISc), Bangalore; UPSC Mains'17;Stanford Reliance Fellowship Finalist; GMAT-730; Telegram- akmsiva

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is it a paid course?

Unacademy remains committed to the cause of democratising access to free, high-quality education for everyone and continuing to help millions of students in India and across the world. The live course is part of a new initiative by us to recreate the interaction of an actual classroom online, where you can learn from each of your peers and receive personalized attention from some of the top educators on Unacademy over an extended period of time in small batches. Because of the huge and regular time commitments required of these educators, it is only fair that they are compensated adequately for the same. For this reason and to maintain the tech infrastructure required to conduct the live courses seamlessly online, we charge a nominal fee for these live courses.

How is this different from the free courses?

These live courses are different from the free courses available on Unacademy in a number of ways: These courses are available only to a small batch of the top learners on Unacademy. They give you access to regular and weekly live-sessions with some of the top educators on the platform, where they interact with the batch and personally resolve doubts and queries. They give you access to a private group with other top learners, where you get to discuss, debate and share learning resources under the guidance of the educator. Also, you get access to recordings of the live sessions, downloadable notes and other learning material for a period of 2 years, following which the videos and other content will be automatically deleted and access to the course will no longer be available.

What happens if I miss a class?

Though we actively encourage you to try and attend all the live sessions part of the course, if in case you’re unable to attend a session due to any reason, the recordings of the live sessions will be made available to the batch. You will have access to the recordings and other learning resources.

30th September to 5th April 2019

138 hours of live classes

Private Discussion Forum

Doubt clearing sessions and Live quizzes

25,900

Includes 18% GST

Notify me about the next batch

Registrations closed

© 2018
Sorting Hat Technologies Pvt Ltd
LEARNER APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App
EDUCATOR APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App