Back to Plus

History Optional for UPSC Mains 2019 (Paper 1)
Nandini Maharaj

46k followers

In this course, Nandini Maharaj will cover the entire Paper 1 History Optional syllabus for the UPSC Civil Services Exam: Ancient and Medieval India. It will include detailed maps and previous year question solutions. The course will be conducted in English and the notes will also be provided in English.

About this course
Live Sessions

The course consists of 80 sessions of 1 hour 30 mins duration each. Session recording will be provided for all the sessions.

Discussion Forums

Access to a private forum moderated by Nandini Maharaj where you can discuss and debate with your peers, access learning material and more.

Personalized Learning

All learners will have access to weekly doubt clearing sessions, live quizzes, learning materials and discussion with peers.

This course contains comprehensive sessions where all the topics from the syllabus will be covered in the following way: facts, historiography, and connections with the previous and next topic to answer thematic questions, maps along with a detailed discussion on the previous year questions. Sources for Ancient History: Upinder Singh, DN Jha. Medieval history: IGNOU booklets. NCERTs and Tamil Badu books will also be covered. Nandini Maharaj will add information from her personal college notes as well. Maps will be prepared thematically - example first Paleolithic sites will be covered, then Mesolithic. They will be embedded in the syllabus itself, to create better understanding of topics. Daily map tests will help with retention. Emphasis will also be on Mains answer writing: How to interpret words like Critically Analyse, Examine, Elucidate depending on the wording of the statement in the question. This course will help you to analyze and inter-link history of India yourself. 
Course Curriculum

The course is divided into 80 sessions in total, and will offer personalised guidance and doubt-clearing to all the learners part of the limited batch.

  • 18th October to 6th February 2019
  • Class Timings: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
1
Paleolithic Age: Maps and Facts
Thursday, 18th October, 4:00 pm
2
Mesolithic Age: Maps and Facts and PYQs
Tuesday, 23rd October, 4:00 pm
3
Neolithic Age: Maps and Facts
Sunday, 28th October, 4:00 pm
4
Chalcolithic Age: Maps and Facts and PYQs
Wednesday, 31st October, 4:00 pm
5
Indus Valley Civilization: Origin, date, extent, characteristics
Friday, 2nd November, 4:00 pm
6
Indus Valley Civilization: Decline, Survival and Significance
Saturday, 3rd November, 4:00 pm
7
Indus Valley Civilization: Art and Architecture, Maps
Monday, 5th November, 4:00 pm
8
Megalithic Discussion
Tuesday, 6th November, 4:00 pm
9
Megalithic Maps
Friday, 9th November, 4:00 pm
10
Vedic Age: Transformation from Rig Vedic period to the later Vedic period
Monday, 12th November, 4:00 pm
11
Vedic Age: Expansions of Aryans in India, Religious and philosophic literature
Saturday, 10th November, 4:00 pm
12
Vedic Age: Evolution of Monarchy and Varna system
Tuesday, 13th November, 4:00 pm
13
Maps: PGW, OCP, Copper Hoards
Wednesday, 14th November, 4:00 pm
14
Mahajanapadas: Republics and Monarchies; Economy
Thursday, 15th November, 4:00 pm
15
Mahajanapadas: Spread of Jainism and Buddhism
Friday, 16th November, 4:00 pm
16
Mahajanapadas: Magadha and Nandas; Iranian and Macedonian invasions
Saturday, 17th November, 4:00 pm
17
Maps: NBPW and Cities; Test Paper Paleo-Mahajanapadas
Monday, 19th November, 4:00 pm
18
Mauryas: Foundation of the Mauryan Empire, Chandragupta, Kautilya and Arthashastra
Tuesday, 20th November, 4:00 pm
19
Mauryas: Ashoka, Concept of Dharma, Edicts, Polity, Administration, Economy
Wednesday, 21st November, 4:00 pm
20
Mauryas: Art, External contacts, Religion, Literature, Disintegration, Sungas and Kanvas
Thursday, 22nd November, 4:00 pm
21
Maps: Ashokan Sites
Friday, 23rd November, 4:00 pm
22
Test Discussion
Saturday, 24th November, 4:00 pm
23
Post Maurya: Indo-Greeks, Sakas, Kushanas, Western Kshatrapas: Contact with outside world, Economy
Monday, 26th November, 4:00 pm
24
Post Maurya: Development of Religions, Mahayana, Social conditions
Tuesday, 27th November, 4:00 pm
25
Post Maurya: Art, Architecture, Culture, Literature and Science
Wednesday, 28th November, 4:00 pm
26
Maps: Post Maurya
Thursday, 29th November, 4:00 pm
27
Sources: Archaeological
Friday, 30th November, 4:00 pm
28
Sources: Literature
Saturday, 1st December, 4:00 pm
29
Culture: Paleo-Post-Maurya (comparative studies)
Monday, 3rd December, 4:00 pm
30
Culture: Paleo-Post-Maurya (comparative studies)
Tuesday, 4th December, 4:00 pm
31
Culture: Paleo-Post-Maurya (comparative studies)
Wednesday, 5th December, 4:00 pm
32
Maps: Buddhist and Jain sites
Thursday, 6th December, 4:00 pm
33
Kharavela, The Satavahanas (maps and discussion)
Friday, 7th December, 4:00 pm
34
Tamil States of the Sangam Age
Saturday, 8th December, 4:00 pm
35
Gupta Era: Guptas, Vakatakas and Vardhanas: Polity and Economy
Tuesday, 11th December, 4:00 pm
36
Guptas: Society, Culture, Education
Wednesday, 12th December, 4:00 pm
37
Maps: Cities and Culture sites
Thursday, 13th December, 4:00 pm
38
Regional States During Guptas: Polity, Economy
Friday, 14th December, 4:00 pm
39
Regional States During Guptas: Literature; Temples
Saturday, 15th December, 4:00 pm
40
Regional States During Guptas: Culture
Monday, 17th December, 4:00 pm
41
Maps: Cities and Temples
Tuesday, 18th December, 4:00 pm
42
Maps: Culture Sites
Wednesday, 19th December, 4:00 pm
43
Rajputs
Thursday, 20th December, 4:00 pm
44
Cholas
Friday, 21st December, 4:00 pm
45
Maps: Rajput Forts
Saturday, 22nd December, 4:00 pm
46
Transition to Early Medieval India (Test: Mauryas - Transition)
Monday, 24th December, 4:00 pm
47
Bhakti Sufi Traditions
Wednesday, 26th December, 4:00 pm
48
Maps: Bhakti Saints
Thursday, 27th December, 4:00 pm
49
Test Discussion
Friday, 28th December, 4:00 pm
50
Early Medieval India: Philosophy, Science
Saturday, 29th December, 4:00 pm
51
Early Medieval India: Literature and Architecture
Thursday, 3rd January, 4:00 pm
52
Sultanate: Establishment, Expansion, Consolidation
Friday, 4th January, 4:00 pm
53
Sultanate: Economy
Saturday, 5th January, 4:00 pm
54
Sultanate: Culture, Literature, Science, Architecture
Monday, 7th January, 4:00 pm
55
Sher Shah Sur
Tuesday, 8th January, 4:00 pm
56
Regional States: Bengal, Kashmir
Wednesday, 9th January, 4:00 pm
57
Regional States: Malwa, Gujarat
Thursday, 10th January, 4:00 pm
58
Maps: Sultanate+Regional States
Friday, 11th January, 4:00 pm
59
Vijayanagar
Saturday, 12th January, 4:00 pm
60
Vajayanagar+Bahamani Kingdom
Monday, 14th January, 4:00 pm
61
Deccan Kingdoms Culture (Test: Bhakti-Sufi - Vijayanar)
Tuesday, 15th January, 4:00 pm
62
Maps: Important Ports Ancient to Medieval
Wednesday, 16th January, 4:00 pm
63
Mughals: Babur - Akbar
Thursday, 17th January, 4:00 pm
64
Akbar: Economy, Polity
Friday, 18th January, 4:00 pm
65
Test Discussion
Saturday, 19th January, 4:00 pm
66
Mughals: Akbar religious policy, Society
Monday, 21st January, 4:00 pm
67
Mughals: Jahangir, Shah Jahan
Tuesday, 22nd January, 4:00 pm
68
Mughals: Aurangzeb
Wednesday, 23rd January, 4:00 pm
69
Mughals: Aurangzeb+Ahoms
Thursday, 24th January, 4:00 pm
70
Mughal Culture: Art and Architecture
Friday, 25th January, 4:00 pm
71
Mughal Culture: Literature, Science, Music
Saturday, 26th January, 4:00 pm
72
Marathas: Polity
Monday, 28th January, 4:00 pm
73
Marathas: Economy, Impact, Disintegration
Tuesday, 29th January, 4:00 pm
74
16th-17th century: Economy
Wednesday, 30th January, 4:00 pm
75
16th-17th century: Society
Thursday, 31st January, 4:00 pm
76
Europeans in India
Friday, 1st February, 4:00 pm
77
18th Century: Decline of Mughals, Regional States
Saturday, 2nd February, 4:00 pm
78
18th Century: British conquest (Test: Mughals- 18th Century)
Monday, 4th February, 4:00 pm
79
Maps: Important Towns and Cities Medieval India
Tuesday, 5th February, 4:00 pm
80
Test Discussion
Wednesday, 6th February, 4:00 pm
Show more
About the educator
Nandini Maharaj
46k followers

MA in Applied Human Rights from Sheffield Hallam University, BA (Hons.) History from LSR, reader, dancer, love to teach

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is it a paid course?

Unacademy remains committed to the cause of democratising access to free, high-quality education for everyone and continuing to help millions of students in India and across the world. The live course is part of a new initiative by us to recreate the interaction of an actual classroom online, where you can learn from each of your peers and receive personalized attention from some of the top educators on Unacademy over an extended period of time in small batches. Because of the huge and regular time commitments required of these educators, it is only fair that they are compensated adequately for the same. For this reason and to maintain the tech infrastructure required to conduct the live courses seamlessly online, we charge a nominal fee for these live courses.

How is this different from the free courses?

These live courses are different from the free courses available on Unacademy in a number of ways: These courses are available only to a small batch of the top learners on Unacademy. They give you access to regular and weekly live-sessions with some of the top educators on the platform, where they interact with the batch and personally resolve doubts and queries. They give you access to a private group with other top learners, where you get to discuss, debate and share learning resources under the guidance of the educator. Also, you get access to recordings of the live sessions, downloadable notes and other learning material for a period of 2 years, following which the videos and other content will be automatically deleted and access to the course will no longer be available.

What happens if I miss a class?

Though we actively encourage you to try and attend all the live sessions part of the course, if in case you’re unable to attend a session due to any reason, the recordings of the live sessions will be made available to the batch. You will have access to the recordings and other learning resources.

18th October to 6th February 2019

120 hours of live classes

Private Discussion Forum

Doubt clearing sessions and Live quizzes

18,900

Includes 18% GST

Apply for this Plus Course

Last date to apply is 18th Oct

LIMITED SEATS. Cost increases on 15th Oct.

© 2018
Sorting Hat Technologies Pvt Ltd
LEARNER APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App
EDUCATOR APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App