Back to Plus

Concepts+latest developments in Environment/Ecology (Pre & Mains)
Roman Saini

595k followers

This course will cover all the important static and contemporary topics which will help you to tackle all the questions related to Environment, Ecology, Biodiversity and Disaster Management for UPSC CSE Mains 2018, Prelims 2019 and Mains 2019. This course will be conducted in English.

About this course
Live Sessions

The course consists of 36 sessions of 1 hour duration each. Session recording will be provided for all the sessions.

Discussion Forums

Access to a private forum moderated by Roman Saini where you can discuss and debate with your peers, access learning material and more.

Personalized Learning

All learners will have access to weekly doubt clearing sessions, live quizzes, learning materials and discussion with peers.

Learners will get 36 detailed live sessions (60 mins each) with weekly doubt clearing sessions and weekly live quizzes. It will help in building a strong foundation in this topic as the concepts will be explained in a crystal clear way and Roman will make sure it will stick in your head. After this course learner will be able to solve questions in lesser time and write answers in an effective manner. 
Course Curriculum

The course is divided into 36 sessions in total, and will offer personalised guidance and doubt-clearing to all the learners part of the limited batch.

  • 15th June to 4th September 2018
  • Class Timings: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
1
Introduction - ​Syllabus, Previous Year Questions, Importance, Weight-age and Trend analysis
Friday, 15th June, 2:30 pm
2
Strategy, Approach, Previous Year Questions, Books and Magazines to cover this entire syllabus
Tuesday, 19th June, 2:30 pm
3
Important scientific concepts essentials to master the EnB
Saturday, 23rd June, 2:30 pm
4
Brief description of Agents of change in the atmosphere – humidity and temperature.
Wednesday, 27th June, 2:30 pm
5
Basics of Ecology, natural environment, laws of ecology and Biosphere
Friday, 29th June, 2:30 pm
6
Concept Ecosystems, type of Ecosystem and Biogeochemical Cycles
Thursday, 5th July, 2:30 pm
7
World Biomes
Saturday, 7th July, 2:30 pm
8
Different types of the Biomes in India
Monday, 9th July, 2:30 pm
9
India’s natural vegetation
Wednesday, 11th July, 2:30 pm
10
Soils
Friday, 13th July, 2:30 pm
11
Effect of Anthropogenic Activities on environment and Local ecosystems
Sunday, 15th July, 2:30 pm
12
Pollution, Global warming and climate change - Conceptual framework
Tuesday, 17th July, 2:30 pm
13
Environmental pollution in India
Thursday, 19th July, 2:30 pm
14
Impact of Climate Change and mitigation strategies
Saturday, 21st July, 2:30 pm
15
Biodiversity Basics – Flora and Fauna
Monday, 23rd July, 2:30 pm
16
Wildlife and forest resources
Wednesday, 25th July, 2:30 pm
17
Wildlife and forest resources in India
Saturday, 28th July, 2:30 pm
18
Water resource and water resource management in India
Monday, 30th July, 2:30 pm
19
Biodiversity conservation and Management - Part 1 : IUCN RED LIST etc.
Wednesday, 1st August, 2:30 pm
20
Biodiversity conservation and Management - Part 2: India specific
Friday, 3rd August, 2:30 pm
21
Environmental Politics - Identification of Problem, Need, Global commons, Awareness, studies etc.
Sunday, 5th August, 2:30 pm
22
Environmental Politics - Negotiations: International Treaties, Agencies, Funds & Corporations
Tuesday, 7th August, 2:30 pm
23
Environmental Politics - North-South divide, Problems & Prospects for countries, Role of UN etc.
Thursday, 9th August, 2:30 pm
24
Environmental Politics – India centric: Role and position & Developmental Need V/s Global concern.
Saturday, 11th August, 2:30 pm
25
Environmental Politics - Indo-China cooperation, Solar alliance & India’s strategy & future plans
Monday, 13th August, 2:30 pm
26
Role of UN and P-5 countries with respect to environmental concern
Wednesday, 15th August, 2:30 pm
27
Environmental Governance Structure in India
Friday, 17th August, 2:30 pm
28
Recent development: programme , schemes and Green Technology
Sunday, 19th August, 2:30 pm
29
Waste management and solid waste management and management of coastal pollution
Tuesday, 21st August, 2:30 pm
30
Environmental laws: International, national, Regional and conventional
Thursday, 23rd August, 2:30 pm
31
Biodiversity hotspots, national parks and Sanctuaries
Saturday, 25th August, 2:30 pm
32
Biosphere Reserves
Monday, 27th August, 2:30 pm
33
Environmental impact assessment and Environmental ethics
Wednesday, 29th August, 2:30 pm
34
Disaster Management
Friday, 31st August, 2:30 pm
35
Recent concepts in Environment and Ecology and ALL important Development after 2015 - Part I
Sunday, 2nd September, 2:30 pm
36
Recent concepts in Environment and Ecology and ALL important Development after 2015 - Part II
Tuesday, 4th September, 2:30 pm
Show more
About the educator
Roman Saini
595k followers

Part of a great founding team at Unacademy with Gaurav, Hemesh. Movies, Guitar, Books, Teaching.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is it a paid course?

Unacademy remains committed to the cause of democratising access to free, high-quality education for everyone and continuing to help millions of students in India and across the world. The live course is part of a new initiative by us to recreate the interaction of an actual classroom online, where you can learn from each of your peers and receive personalized attention from some of the top educators on Unacademy over an extended period of time in small batches. Because of the huge and regular time commitments required of these educators, it is only fair that they are compensated adequately for the same. For this reason and to maintain the tech infrastructure required to conduct the live courses seamlessly online, we charge a nominal fee for these live courses.

How is this different from the free courses?

These live courses are different from the free courses available on Unacademy in a number of ways: These courses are available only to a small batch of the top learners on Unacademy. They give you access to regular and weekly live-sessions with some of the top educators on the platform, where they interact with the batch and personally resolve doubts and queries. They give you access to a private group with other top learners, where you get to discuss, debate and share learning resources under the guidance of the educator. Also, you get access to recordings of the live sessions, downloadable notes and other learning material.

What happens if I miss a class?

Though we actively encourage you to try and attend all the live sessions part of the course, if in case you’re unable to attend a session due to any reason, the recordings of the live sessions will be made available to the batch. You will have access to the recordings and other learning resources.
© 2018
Sorting Hat Technologies Pvt Ltd
LEARNER APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App
EDUCATOR APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App