Back to Plus

Complete Course on Social Anthropology - Paper I & II
Deepika Reddy Magham

9k followers

In this course on General Studies – Paper II Mains, Deepika will comprehensively cover the entire social anthropology syllabus in Anthropology optional which is 75% of the total syllabus. Basics and concepts associated with all the topics mentioned below will be dealt in detail followed by questions that can be asked on the topic in Mains with the approach to answering the questions will be discussed.

About this course
Live Sessions

The course consists of 70 sessions of 1 hour 30 mins duration each. Session recording will be provided for all the sessions.

Discussion Forums

Access to a private forum moderated by Deepika Reddy Magham where you can discuss and debate with your peers, access learning material and more.

Personalized Learning

All learners will have access to weekly doubt clearing sessions, live quizzes, learning materials and discussion with peers.

This course will cover all the topics of Social Anthropology in Anthropology optional for civil services aspirants. Other salient features include Special emphasis on Anthropological thought, Topic wise coverage of syllabus in a systematic manner - covered topic wise rather than paper wise, Detailed handouts, Detailed analysis of the questions previously asked and Tips on Mains Answer writing. 
Course Curriculum

The course is divided into 70 sessions in total, and will offer personalised guidance and doubt-clearing to all the learners part of the limited batch.

  • 30th September to 30th January 2019
  • Class Timings: 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
1
Social - Cultural Anthropology - Introduction
Sunday, 30th September, 12:00 pm
2
Anthropology theories - I (Paper I)
Monday, 1st October, 12:00 pm
3
Anthropology theories - II (Paper I)
Wednesday, 3rd October, 12:00 pm
4
Anthropology theories - III (Paper I)
Thursday, 4th October, 12:00 pm
5
Anthropology theories - IV (Paper I)
Friday, 5th October, 12:00 pm
6
Anthropology theories - V (Paper I)
Monday, 8th October, 12:00 pm
7
Anthropology theories - VI (Paper I)
Tuesday, 9th October, 12:00 pm
8
Anthropology theories - VII (Paper I)
Wednesday, 10th October, 12:00 pm
9
The Nature of Culture (Paper I)
Thursday, 11th October, 12:00 pm
10
Evolution of Indian Culture - I (Paper II)
Friday, 12th October, 12:00 pm
11
Evolution of Indian Culture - II (Paper II)
Monday, 15th October, 12:00 pm
12
Evolution of Indian Culture - III (Paper II)
Tuesday, 16th October, 12:00 pm
13
The Nature of Society - I (Paper I)
Monday, 22nd October, 12:00 pm
14
The Nature of Society - II (Paper I)
Tuesday, 23rd October, 12:00 pm
15
The Structure & Nature of Traditional Indian Social System - I (Paper II)
Wednesday, 24th October, 12:00 pm
16
The Structure & Nature of Traditional Indian Social System - II (Paper II)
Thursday, 25th October, 12:00 pm
17
The Structure & Nature of Traditional Indian Social System - III (Paper II)
Friday, 26th October, 12:00 pm
18
Caste System in India - I (Paper II)
Monday, 29th October, 12:00 pm
19
Caste System in India - II (Paper II)
Tuesday, 30th October, 12:00 pm
20
Caste System in India - III (Paper II)
Wednesday, 31st October, 12:00 pm
21
Marriage - I (Paper I)
Friday, 2nd November, 12:00 pm
22
Marriage - II (Paper I)
Friday, 9th November, 12:00 pm
23
Family - I (Paper I)
Monday, 12th November, 12:00 pm
24
Family - II (Paper I)
Tuesday, 13th November, 12:00 pm
25
Kinship - I (Paper I)
Thursday, 15th November, 12:00 pm
26
Kinship - II (Paper I)
Friday, 16th November, 12:00 pm
27
Religion - I (Paper I)
Monday, 19th November, 12:00 pm
28
Religion - II (Paper I)
Tuesday, 20th November, 12:00 pm
29
Sacred Complex and Nature (Paper I)
Wednesday, 21st November, 12:00 pm
30
Impact of Religion on Society (Paper II)
Thursday, 22nd November, 12:00 pm
31
Indian Village System (Paper II)
Friday, 23rd November, 12:00 pm
32
Socio Cultural Change in Indian Society (Paper II)
Monday, 26th November, 12:00 pm
33
Panchayati Raj & Social Change ,Media & Social Change (Paper II)
Tuesday, 27th November, 12:00 pm
34
Demographic Profile of India (Paper II)
Wednesday, 28th November, 12:00 pm
35
Linguistic Minorities (Paper II)
Thursday, 29th November, 12:00 pm
36
Religious Minorities (Paper II)
Friday, 30th November, 12:00 pm
37
Culture, Language and Communication (Paper I)
Monday, 3rd December, 12:00 pm
38
Research Methods in Anthropology - I (Paper I)
Tuesday, 4th December, 12:00 pm
39
Research Methods in Anthropology - II (Paper I)
Wednesday, 5th December, 12:00 pm
40
Research Methods in Anthropology - III (Paper I)
Thursday, 6th December, 12:00 pm
41
Problems of Scs & OBCs - I (Paper II)
Tuesday, 11th December, 12:00 pm
42
Problems of Scs & OBCs - II (Paper II)
Wednesday, 12th December, 12:00 pm
43
Emergence & Growth of Anthropology - I (Paper II)
Thursday, 13th December, 12:00 pm
44
Emergence & Growth of Anthropology - II (Paper II)
Friday, 14th December, 12:00 pm
45
Emergence & Growth of Anthropology - III (Paper II)
Monday, 17th December, 12:00 pm
46
Emergence & Growth of Anthropology - IV (Paper II)
Tuesday, 18th December, 12:00 pm
47
Emergence & Growth of Anthropology - V (Paper II)
Wednesday, 19th December, 12:00 pm
48
Political Control & Social Control - I (Paper I)
Thursday, 20th December, 12:00 pm
49
Political Control & Social Control - II (Paper I)
Friday, 21st December, 12:00 pm
50
The Concept of Ethinicity (Paper II)
Wednesday, 26th December, 12:00 pm
51
Classification of Tribes (Paper II)
Thursday, 27th December, 12:00 pm
52
Tribal Situaton in india - I (Paper II)
Friday, 28th December, 12:00 pm
53
Tribal Situaton in india - II (Paper II)
Wednesday, 2nd January, 12:00 pm
54
Problems of the Tribal Comunities - I (Paper II)
Thursday, 3rd January, 12:00 pm
55
Problems of the Tribal Comunities - II (Paper II)
Friday, 4th January, 12:00 pm
56
Displacement & Rehabilitation (Paper II)
Monday, 7th January, 12:00 pm
57
Impact of Religion on Tribal Societies - I (Paper II)
Tuesday, 8th January, 12:00 pm
58
Impact of Religion on Tribal Societies - II (Paper II)
Wednesday, 9th January, 12:00 pm
59
Tribe and Nation State - I (Paper II)
Thursday, 10th January, 12:00 pm
60
Tribe and Nation State - II (Paper II)
Friday, 11th January, 12:00 pm
61
Social Change & Contemporary Tribal Societies - I (Paper II)
Thursday, 17th January, 12:00 pm
62
Social Change & Contemporary Tribal Societies - II (Paper II)
Friday, 18th January, 12:00 pm
63
Social Change & Contemporary Tribal Societies - III (Paper II)
Monday, 21st January, 12:00 pm
64
Tribal areas Administration - I (Paper II)
Tuesday, 22nd January, 12:00 pm
65
Tribal areas Administration - II (Paper II)
Wednesday, 23rd January, 12:00 pm
66
Role of Anthropology in Tribal & Rural Development - I (Paper II)
Thursday, 24th January, 12:00 pm
67
Role of Anthropology in Tribal & Rural Development - II (Paper II)
Friday, 25th January, 12:00 pm
68
Regionalism (Paper II)
Monday, 28th January, 12:00 pm
69
Communalism (Paper II)
Tuesday, 29th January, 12:00 pm
70
Miscellaneous (Paper II)
Wednesday, 30th January, 12:00 pm
Show more
About the educator
Deepika Reddy Magham
9k followers

BCA, LLB, MBA; Director, Shikara IAS Academy; 9 + years experience in teaching Indian Polity, Ethics, Indian Society and Social Justice.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is it a paid course?

Unacademy remains committed to the cause of democratising access to free, high-quality education for everyone and continuing to help millions of students in India and across the world. The live course is part of a new initiative by us to recreate the interaction of an actual classroom online, where you can learn from each of your peers and receive personalized attention from some of the top educators on Unacademy over an extended period of time in small batches. Because of the huge and regular time commitments required of these educators, it is only fair that they are compensated adequately for the same. For this reason and to maintain the tech infrastructure required to conduct the live courses seamlessly online, we charge a nominal fee for these live courses.

How is this different from the free courses?

These live courses are different from the free courses available on Unacademy in a number of ways: These courses are available only to a small batch of the top learners on Unacademy. They give you access to regular and weekly live-sessions with some of the top educators on the platform, where they interact with the batch and personally resolve doubts and queries. They give you access to a private group with other top learners, where you get to discuss, debate and share learning resources under the guidance of the educator. Also, you get access to recordings of the live sessions, downloadable notes and other learning material for a period of 2 years, following which the videos and other content will be automatically deleted and access to the course will no longer be available.

What happens if I miss a class?

Though we actively encourage you to try and attend all the live sessions part of the course, if in case you’re unable to attend a session due to any reason, the recordings of the live sessions will be made available to the batch. You will have access to the recordings and other learning resources.
© 2018
Sorting Hat Technologies Pvt Ltd
LEARNER APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App
EDUCATOR APP
Get Unacademy Android AppGet Unacademy Android App